Apartment Life Blog

Meet The Team: Bryan Borland

Leave a comment

BryanBorland

Before Bryan Borland was Development Associate for Wood Partners, he ran a newspaper route at 10 years old! Find out his secret talent, his shocking fantasy career, and what he loves most about his work:
________________________________________
Name: Bryan Borland

Title/Position: Development Associate

Office Name/Location: DC/Northern VA (though, soon to be Orlando/North Florida)
________________________________________

Fantasy career: Can’t imagine anything else I’d rather be doing.

Favorite ethnic cuisine: Indian (Like George Costanza, Bryan likes his chicken spicy)

Most exotic travel experience: Either Costa Rica or Dubai, UAE

Starbucks (or other coffee shop) order: Milk/cream, no sweetener. Maybe a latte on the weekend or if I’m feeling saucy that day.

A perfect day in would be: Saturday after Thanksgiving… Spend the morning at the beach with family in Destin, then drive to Tallahassee and tailgate with friends before watching my beloved Florida State Seminoles beat the hated Florida Gators.

Best advice you ever received: “Don’t sweat the small stuff” (thanks Mom)

Your secret talent: I’m a decent cook and I’m good at lifting heavy objects

What you like most about your work: Variety/challenge/continuous learning; Exposure to different disciplines and people; Opportunity to impact/shape communities

Favorite weekend activity: Taking my lab swimming or to the dog park; FSU football games (during college football season)

Your first job: I had a newspaper route when I was 10-11 years old

Most productive time of day: Early mornings or evenings after the calls and emails have slowed down

Reality show you’re embarrassed to admit you watch: Research shows that I watch a lot more Bravo when I’m in a relationship

Person you’d like to have dinner with: Milton Friedman

A business tool you can’t live without: Cell Phone (My Samsung Galaxy S4 laughs at your iPhone)

Next travel destination: Peru (Machu Picchu)

What’s next for you: Moving back to Florida (Orlando) later this year

A bad habit: I have a tendency to over-think/over-analyze, often while biting my fingernails or cracking my knuckles

Favorite possession: Not necessarily a “possession,” but I’ll say my 7 year-old chocolate lab, Rudy

What book is on your nightstand now? Guns, Germs and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies

Words you live by: “No Regrets,” that’s my motto. That, and “Everybody Wang Chung tonight.”

First thing you do when you get to the office: Review my to-do list for the day

Last thing you do before you leave your office: Make a to-do list for the next day

Your favorite guilty pleasure: Eating an entire large pizza and ice cream cake (Carvel, of course) every year on my birthday

Leave a Reply

