Apartment Life Blog

Meet The Team: Tom Shoup

Leave a comment

Tom Shoup

His first job was pumping gas at 19 cents per gallon, but today Tom Shoup is Director of Constuction for Wood Partners East and South. Find out more about Tom, including his favorite posession, his secret talent, and his bad habit.


Name: Tom Shoup
Title/Position: Director – Construction for WP East and South
Office Name/Location: Charlotte, but can be found in other offices about 50% of the time

– Fantasy career: Ski instructor (I plan to fulfill this fantasy too!)

– Favorite ethnic cuisine: Hard to choose but probably Thai

– Most exotic travel experience: Visiting my son in Ghana last year. He was in the Peace Corps

– Starbucks order: Medium (not grande) coffee of the day

– Most played song on iPod: Take the L train (to Brooklyn) by Brooklyn Funk Essentials

– A perfect day in would be: Deep powder in the back bowls of Vail

– Best advice you ever received: Stick to the facts – never give your opinion

– Your secret talent: I make an excellent blueberry pie

– What you like most about your work: Every day is a new challenge

– Favorite weekend activity: Riding motorcycles fast

– Worst subject in high school: Sociology – it just didn’t seem relevant

– What inspires you? Doing the right thing, treating people well

– Most productive time of day: 7:30 – 11 AM

– Reality show you’re embarrassed to admit you watch: I don’t watch much TV and certainly no reality shows

– Person you’d like to have dinner with: Barack Obama – I didn’t vote for him (either time) but would love to have an hour alone.
Plus I hear that the white house chef is really good.

– Your first job: Pumping gas for 19 cents a gallon

– What you’re most proud of: My kids who both turned out pretty darn well (so far)

– A business tool you can’t live without: MS Office

– Next travel destination: Vail in January

– What’s next for you: More of the same – always interesting though

– A bad habit: I think that my wife said that I am forgetful, but maybe I just wasn’t listening

– Favorite possession: The Ducati Monster 996 motorcycle that my wife gave me for my 50th birthday

– What book is on your nightstand now? I just finished The Racketeer by John Grisham

– A job you’d want if you weren’t doing this job: See fantasy career above

– Words you live by: Do the right thing

– First thing you do when you get to the office: Turn on computer

– Last thing you do before you leave your office: Turn it off

– Your favorite guilty pleasure: Perhaps I enjoy big red wine too much

Leave a Reply

