Apartment Life Blog

Meet The Team: Grant Rice

Leave a comment

Grant Rice

Grant Rice, our VP & Joint Venture Controller, could eat Mexican food all day, every day, loves to watch The Bachelor and The Bachelorette, and his dream job might surprise you — read on to learn more:


Name: Grant Rice
Title/Position: VP & Joint Venture Controller
Office Name/Location: Atlanta

Favorite ethnic cuisine: Could seriously eat Mexican for breakfast, lunch and dinner every day

Most exotic travel experience: Playa Mujeres, Mexico for my Honeymoon

Starbucks order: Grande bold blend coffee

Most played song on iPod: Anything on my running mix since that is the only time I use an iPod…Party Rock Anthem, Emimem, Muse, although that is pump-it-up music and nothing like what I really enjoy listening to.

A perfect day in would be: A Saturday during the Fall when Alabama has an away game…college football on the TV all day and night!

Best advice you ever received: “Don’t put the cart in front of the horse, unless he knows how to push it of course” – Pat Green. Challenging you to think for yourself and find alternative ways of approaching and solving a problem.

What you like most about your work: Two things: (1) I love what we do – developing communities that are individually unique and more than just bricks & mortar, which in turn creates value for our Company and our partners; and (2) the people that I work with and interact with on a daily basis. Our group here in Atlanta have a great bond and everyone in the Company values each other’s role in the business process and always treat each other with respect.

Favorite weekend activity: During the Fall – attending Alabama football games & tailgating all day with family & friends; every other weekend of the year I just value anytime I can spend a whole day with my wife and our 1-year old son Nathan.
Worst subject in high school: Anything scientific – biology, physics, etc.

What inspires you? Making the most out of the blessings I have received in my life.

Most productive time of day: Early, early morning before the emails and meetings start

Reality show you’re embarrassed to admit you watch: I am not embarrassed by anything I watch! The Bachelor/Bachelorette and of course Bachelor Pad – Duck Dynasty – Moonshiners – Teen Mom. All timeless classics.

Your first job: Cleaning houses under construction between subcontractors when I was 14 for a builder in Montgomery, AL
A business tool you can’t live without: 10-key. Come on I can fly on that thing!

Next travel destination: Miami for the BCS National Championship Game…ROLL TIDE!

What’s next for you: Keep on plugging away at Wood while hopefully staying challenged along the way.

What book is on your nightstand now? The latest FASB technical bulletin (that’s a joke)…I really don’t read books

A job you’d want if you weren’t doing this job: Architect

Words you live by: “Don’t put the cart in front of the horse, unless he knows how to push it of course” – Pat Green. I interpret those lyrics as challenging me to think for myself and that conventional ways of approaching and solving a problem might not be the best way.

First thing you do when you get to the office: Turn on music

Fantasy career: Fighter Pilot

Leave a Reply

